Skip to content

2009 Educators of Distinction

WHO: The Coca−Cola Scholars Foundation named 252 teachers as Educators of Distinction for the 2008-2009 school year. The award recognizes outstanding teachers dedicated to providing education with an enhanced purpose.

WHAT: Each of the 2009 Coca−Cola Scholars nominated the educator that inspired and encouraged them the most. The Educators of Distinction receive a certificate inscribed with a personal dedication written by the student that nominated them.

WHY: “The Coca−Cola Educator of Distinction Award represents the sincere dedication of the educators who win it. These teachers help shape the future of America by encouraging its future leaders,” said J. Mark Davis, president of the Coca−Cola Scholars Foundation. “The Coca−Cola Scholars Foundation is committed to education, and we are proud to support the Educators of Distinction program. It is our way of saying thank you and congratulations to these teachers.”

WHAT: The Coca−Cola Class of 2009 Scholars was selected as scholarship finalists from a field of more than 2,100 Semifinalists by the Coca−Cola Scholars Foundation and an initial applicant pool of more than 74,000 high school seniors. The students were selected based on academic excellence, school involvement and community leadership. Scholarships are sponsored by the local Coca−Cola Bottler and The Coca−Cola Company.

WHY: The Coca−Cola Scholars Foundation is one of the most-recognized and respected corporate-sponsored scholarships in the U.S. The Coca−Cola Scholars Foundation was created in 1986 to commemorate the 100th anniversary of Coca−Cola and to establish a legacy for the education of tomorrow’s leaders through college scholarships. In 2009, the Foundation marks its 21st consecutive year of scholarship awards. Including the 2009 class, the foundation has provided 4,276 Scholars with more than $38 million in scholarships.