Skip to content

June 2019 Accolades

Jonathan Quarles (2000), Founder and CEO, The BTL Group, was honored as a 2019 Aspen Ideas Festival Scholar, one of 300 leaders from around the world selected for their work, accomplishments and ability to transform ideas into action.
Mike Woodward (2004) was honored on Gambit’s 2019 40 Under 40 list for the amazing work that he’s doing as Executive Director of College Track New Orleans.
Meena Venkataramanan (2017)
Earlier this year, Meena Venkataramanan (2017) received the Harvard College Detur Book Prize and was named a John Harvard Scholar. The Detur Book Prize is awarded to sophomores who attained very high academic standing in their first year at Harvard and honors them with a book of their choice (Meena chose Leaves of Grass). John Harvard Scholars are students who are ranked in the top 5% of their class.
Earlier this month, Meena also attended the POLITICO Journalism Institute. She was one of 16 student journalists from around the country selected to attend this program, through which she pitched, reported, and wrote an enterprise story for POLITICO.
Antonia Henry (1999 Coke Scholar and Ron Brown Scholar) was featured in the latest Ron Brown Scholars Journey magazine for her many accomplishments in medicine and the military and her dedication to fighting social justice in all fields of medicine. She is currently head of the combined Endoscopy Center of the Naval Medical Center in San Diego and holds Military rank of Commander Select.
Derronda Williams (2006), Gospel Recording Artist, just released her first single “I Know Who I Am.” It is available for download on iTunes, Apple Music, Google Play, Amazon Music, and Spotify.

Congratulations to the Coke Scholars recently named recipients of nationally and internationally competitive scholarships and fellowships!

  • Pricilla Guo (2014), Schwarzman Scholar
  • Ariel Kantor (2015), Rhodes Scholar
  • Aneesh Pappu (2015), Marshall Scholar
  • Destiny Brown (2019), Ron Brown Scholar
  • Suraj Renganathan (2015) and Catherine Zhang (2015), Fulbright Fellows