June 2020 Accolades

Mondaire Jones (2005) won the congressional primary for New York’s 17th district. If elected, Jones would likely become the first openly gay Black Congressman.
Meena Venkataramanan (2017) has been busy!

This past semester, she was awarded a Harvard Presidential Public Service Fellowship for the summer. In addition, she won the Edward Eager Memorial Fund Prize for Best Creative Writing by the English Department and the Spolin Law Scholarship for an essay she wrote on the spirit of the U.S. Constitution.

This summer, she’s a reporting fellow at the Texas Tribune via the Emma Bowen Foundation and the Dow Jones News Fund internship programs. Her work is available here. Her first byline was about the Austin City Council unanimously approving measures to reform its police department and ask for cuts to the police budget in the wake of nationwide protests.

Finally, she recently launched a podcast through her independent journalistic platform, Stories from the Border. The podcast is called Broadcasts from the Border and the first episode features a conversation with New York Times immigration reporter Caitlin Dickerson.
Angela Zhong (2020) was selected as a Grand Prize winner for the Scholastic “What Will You Run For?” Student Essay Contest in conjunction with Levi’s. She was given a $1,000 grant to award to the organization of her choosing, which was United Against Human Trafficking.

Jolene Loetscher (1997) and her husband Nate Burdine, co-owners of Mud Mile Communications, just received another gold Telly Award for a video they produced for us called The Moment. The Telly Awards honor excellence in video and television across all screens.