Skip to content

May 2022 Accolades

Diana Chao (2016) and Sreeya Pittala (2022) were selected for MTV’s first-ever MTV Youth Action Forum. Collaborating with 18 mental health non-profits, the purpose was to encourage and empower young people to drive culture from awareness to action on mental health through storytelling and media. Diana and Sreeya worked alongside the Biden-Harris administration, Selena Gomez and the Rare Impact Fund, leading mental health nonprofits, and industry partners to develop creative campaigns that reach the most at-risk communities with tangible ways to take mental health actions.

In Washington, DC, they had conversations with Surgeon General Dr. Vivek Murthy, The First Lady, Selena Gomez, and an informal conversation with President Biden.
18 of our 2022 Coke Scholars were named Presidential Scholars, including Lydia Marie Pastore, Rishika Kartik, Sreeya Pittala, Miles Kai Wang, Sascha Pakravan, Henry L. Xie, Jaisnav Rajesh, Jui Khankari, McKenna Sun, Ashini Modi, Dhruv Bhandarkar Pai, Brooke Janyne Bothner, Skylar Sargent Walters, Eileen K. Ye, Kyler Ye-Cheng Wang, Hannah Haewon Shin, Alice Z. Guo, and Cameron David Pokorny.
Justin Kawaguchi (2017) was honored to be recognized as one of 30 Changemakers Under 30 by the Japanese American National Museum for his leadership building inclusive spaces within the Japanese American community.
Sherice Torres (1991) was interviewed by Interbrand about brands and the importance of connection.
JJ Jaxon (1994) and his company, Mission MightyMe, were featured in the Northside Neighbor paper and Patti Ross sent this photo.
Lesley Wainwright (1994) was selected as part of the Leadership Atlanta class of 2023.
Sikirat Mustapha (2021) was chosen to participate in the selective Goldman Sachs Emerging Leaders Series.

The “Pass the Mic” video created by Jolene Loetscher (1997) and her husband Nate’s company, Mud Mile Communications, for the 2021 Coca-Cola Scholars Celebration won 3 Telly Awards, including the highest honor — a gold Telly given to less than 1% of submissions. The Telly awards is an international competition recognizing the best in video and content creation.