November 2020 Accolades

Coke Scholars in Congress!

Mondaire Jones (2005) has been elected as a member of the U.S. House, representing New York’s 17th Congressional District, and will be one of the first openly LGBTQ Black members of Congress.

Elise Stefanik (2002) has been re-elected to a fourth term as a member of the U.S. House, representing New York’s 21st Congressional District.

Ben Sasse (1990) has been re-elected to a second term as a United States Senator for Nebraska.
Diana Chao (2016) was designated as a 2020 L’Oreal Paris Women of Worth. Vote here daily through November 27 for her nonprofit, Letters to Strangers, to win an additional $25,000 in funding.
Regina Bain (1994) is the new Executive Director of the Louis Armstrong House Museum. One of the first initiatives she is helping to lead is Armstrong Now! – Contemporary artists responding to Louis Armstrong. A new video drops every week through December.
Jothi Ramaswamy (2019) started a podcast, Lightbulb Moment, highlighting women and their experiences in STEM, media, and entrepreneurship. Tune in to hear her and her guests talk about tech, YouTube, and all things Apple.
A Kids Book About Empathy, written by Daron Roberts (1997), was included in Oprah’s Favorite Things 2020 list.
Jolene Loetscher (1997), Stockton Mayor Michael Tubbs (2008) and Lillian Singh (2000) were selected to be part of two Civil Society Fellowship Classes with the Aspen Institute.
Aditya Sood (2015) was featured by the University of Georgia for his work co-creating Feed the Frontlines Georgia, an organization that distributes meals made by local restaurants to healthcare professionals working to fight the COVID-19 crisis.