Skip to content

February 2022 Accolades

Crystal Moore (2003) was selected to be part of the 2022 Class of Presidential Leadership Scholars. PLS serves as a catalyst for a diverse network of leaders brought together to collaborate and create meaningful change in the United States and around the world as they learn about leadership through the lens of the presidential experiences of George W. Bush, William J. Clinton, George H.W. Bush, and Lyndon B. Johnson. Previous recipients include Coke Scholars Daron K. Roberts (1997), Jolene Loetscher (1997) and Rudy Fernandez (1991).
Christopher Benos (2014) has been named a Schwarzman Scholar. The program, housed in Schwarzman College at Tsinghua University, fully funds participants’ expenses for graduate study in China, including travel costs and a personal stipend. Christopher, a third-year student at the University of Virginia School of Law, will pursue a master’s degree in global affairs.
Neha Seshadri (2018), a senior at Harvard University, made it to the Semifinals of the Jeopardy National College Championship. Photo courtesy of Jeopardy Productions, Inc.
Fatimata Cham (2019) is featured in Season 2 of the show Dear… on Apple TV.

“It was an amazing experience being able to share how much of an inspiration someone like Malala is to me. How her advocacy for girls in education has influenced my work for environmental justice in the South Bronx. As a Black Muslim women I often found it hard to see myself properly represented in popular media. I am so happy that I get to be a source of inspiration for other Black Muslim women in my community.” Fatimata wrote.
Juliana Tafur (2003) gave a TEDx Talk called, “Listening Courageously Can Bridge What Divides Us.”